No texting while driving…in Espanol

Wow…this app taught me quite a bit!  I am not sure I am completely understanding how to put it all together from scratch on my own, but I am learning.

The purpose of this app was to create a way for drivers to hear a text from someone and send them a response letting them know that I am unavailable.  This message can change depending on why I need to stop receiving texts.  The user also receives my location as well.  I don’t know if I would ever use that component myself as it seems kinda creepy that someone could always find out where I am.  But, maybe that is just me. 🙂

I wanted to see how difficult it was to change languages.  I created a component to change the language of the text to speech to spa (I had to look up the three letter code for spanish).  I think this could be useful to help sell the app to users all over the world.  I started to create a menu of languages the user could choose from (in the form of buttons), but realized that would be too much work.  The GPS used was not completely accurate.  My street name was correct, but my house number was not.

I am learning!  I am starting the app developing unit with my kids next week and I am excited to see what they do!

QR Code:

textingScreen Shot 2014-09-27 at 8.09.39 PM

Posted on September 28, 2014, in 2.2 Audiovisual Technologies, 2.3 Computer-Based Technologies, 2.4 Integrated Technologies, EdTech 534. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

